Jammin’ (Almost) Summer Jams

It’s going to get up into the mid 80’s today, I’m wearing my inaugural summer dress, and the chairs are back out in the Yard. All things good, right? Well unfortunately, we are approaching reading period / final exams and it is time to get re-motivated and re-focused. Some people might do this by a quick run around the Charles (good luck marathoners!), some people might write a reflective journal entry, but here at the Women’s Center we work it out through music–specifically, jams.

I hereby present, “Suzbob’s Groovin Guide to Get You Through Finals.” I hope you enjoy and feel free to add your own suggestions in the comment box!

Stage One: my girl B and “Move Your Body” 

“Finals? Totally do-able! After some jumping jacks, I’ll settle down and crank out this paper!” 

More Jamin’ Jams After the Jump! 

Stage Two: Shaki and “Loca” 

“On second thought, the Quad looks so great! Maybe I’ll try to do some reading outside. Where could I find a fountain? That looks fun!” 

Stage Three: Estelle and “American Boy” 

“Catching up on my American history reading, should be done before Brain Break.”

Stage Four: Corinne Bailey Rae and “Paris Nights/New York Mornings”

“Hmm, more reading than I expected. Widener’s closing, should head over to Lamont. This won’t turn into an all-nighter!”

Stage Five: John Williams and “Here Comes the Sun” 

“All Nighter = 1, Suzbob = 0”

Stage Six: Destiny’s Child and “Bug a Boo”

“Dear TF, I heard your announcement in section and lecture, got your two emails, and understand that I won’t get my grades until I fill out the Cue Guide. But as I just turned in my paper, let me just catch my breath!” 

Stage Seven: Tina Turner and “Proud Mary” 

“DONE! Driving along the Charles, heading to Logan, see y’all in August!”

3 thoughts on “Jammin’ (Almost) Summer Jams

  1. lindiwerennert

    Haha. Thank you SuzBob for sending me off the right way.
    I’m sure over the next academic year you will have plenty of opportunities to settle that All-nighter score. Allow me to add a few of my own. I warn you that when buried in economics textbooks and low-income housing studies I greatly enjoy being carried away to Paris by the classical French greats!
    1) Edith Piaf- Non, je ne regrette rien. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q3Kvu6Kgp88
    2) Jacques Brel- Ne me quitte pas. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aNkydsPK6ww&feature=relmfu
    3) Charles Aznavour- La Boheme. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A314PVRSQIM
    4) 113- Un Jour de Paix. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0urvGc6t7j8&ob=av3n

  2. Suzanna and Lindiwe’s suggestions led me to reflect on what I listen to while studying, reading, or writing. For reading, especially the denser stuff, I prefer silence—fewer distractions that way. When I was writing my thesis, I listened to a lot of older bluegrass and doo wop-style R&B. Public radio programs are the soundtrack to my life, however. This post has inspired me to bust out of my rut—come reading period, I’ll definitely take my colleagues’ advice! What do the rest of you listen to when you need to do your classwork?

  3. bradleyhcwc

    I just finished a draft of my junior paper and had Boyz II Men on repeat for the last few pages. I won’t tell you how many times I listened to Water Runs Dry….

Leave a Reply

